Creativity

As Of Today – Feb. 20, 2018

as of today

I know, I know. I haven’t updated this blog in forever. But I haven’t forgotten it, and throughout this crazy, little-more-than-a-year-long journey since my last post, I’ve been racking up ideas on all the things I can share with you that have been useful to me in the past several months.

The last time I was updating this blog consistently, I was unsure that I’d ever achieve my dream of making a career out of storytelling, a vision for diversity in media, and raw creativity. Now, I know I can.

Why? My pain, effort, and hard work paid off massively, and after countless applications, internships, all-nighters, rejections, cover letters, and existential crises, I’m now working in the field I love the most: animated television. I reached one of my major dreams, got my foot in the door, and now, I’m learning from my childhood heroes every day I go into work.

It’s incredibly surreal, and this is just the beginning. Crazy to think that just a little over a year ago, I was writing this post after receiving a scathing rejection from the very organization I was hired by just months later (after a couple more eager job applications)!

Achieving your goals is an odd thing. Movies might play out tales that end in blissful endings and success, but our real-life, personal stories don’t end with achievement; they keep going. The challenges and lessons keep coming, coming, coming, and it’s up to us to make the best of them and continue moving forward… or not.

I’m learning now that while this can be pretty damn horrifying, it can also be beautiful. I’m learning that ultimately, harnessing that constant, unstoppable momentum (whether I like it or not) is what pushes me to a place where I can make the most influence and feel the most fulfilled. I just need to use all this momentum to my advantage. It’s an energy always rushing forward, and it’s up to us to make it positive or negative. Right? Right.

Ultimately, it doesn’t look like my journey to ~~creative fulfillment~~?… or something…?… is ending any time soon. Lots of things to share, lots of things to do, lots of things to learn.

Let’s go.

Leave a comment